On a sunny day, when the sea is calm, especially at noontime, sunbeams penetrate through an underwater opening into the Blue Cave, reflect from the sea bottom and illuminate the cave with blue and the items in the sea with silver color...
BISEVO is an island in the south Dalmatian archipelago, southwest of the island of Vis. The hilly island, of limestone formation, reaches 140 m in its south-eastern part (Strazenica). In the middle of the island is a small field with vines and olive-groves. The coast is characterized by a number of caves, the largest of them being Medvidina and Modra Spilja (Blue Cave).
The island of Bisevo is a favourite destination of excursionists from Vis but also from other Dalmatian islands. Thanks to fast boats it is reached very easily from more distant places and a half-day or one-day excursion will be a pleasant experience to everyone. The island has several caves, the most famous being the Blue Cave in the Balun Cove. It resembles the cave on Capri, Italy, but is much more attractive and luxuriant. It has been accessible since 1884 and can be reached only by boat. On a sunny day, when the sea is calm, especially at noontime, sunbeams penetrate through an underwater opening into the Blue Cave, reflect from the sea bottom and illuminate the cave with blue and the items in the sea with silver colour.
Apart from a unique experience in the Blue Cave, Bievo also offers bathing opportunities in one of the coves and excellent fish. The coastal area is extremely rich in fish.
The Bisevo harbour, well protected from the bora and the sirocco, has a small pier for fishing boats. The Mezuporat Cove is protected only from waves from the south. The sea depth along the pier is 2 m.
The Benedictine monastery of St. Sylvester was founded in 1050 by Ivan Grli from Split. Due to pirate attacks, two centuries later, the monastery relocated to Komiza on the island of Vis. The remains of the original church of St. Sylvester from the 11th century may be seen next to the monastery ruins. The present church contains a part of the inscription by a priest named Ivan, built into the present structure, as well as a fragment of a Greek inscription from ancient times.
get the best deal
& the best yacht