It is famous for its well-maintained and luxuriant vegetation, picturesque ambience of a well-preserved Mediterranean small town, clear seawater and beautiful beaches...
VELI LOSINJ, a town on the eastern coast of the southern part of the island of Losinj, in the interior extension of a short valley, 4 km southeast of Mali Losinj; population 994. There are two small harbours, badly protected from the bora, one in the outer part of the valley (Veli Losinj port) and another in the neighbouring cove of Rovenska. Veli Losinj is connected by the island road (Veli Losinj - Cres - Porozine).
Due to its location in a hilly and luxuriant landscape (old, high stone houses and gardens with rare plant species) and mild climate, Veli Losinj has a years-long tradition in tourism. In 1866 Archduke Carl Stephen had a castle built, known as Morska Straza (Seewarte; Sea Observation Point), and in 1892 it was proclaimed a health resort. The castle owner had over 200 imported plant species planted in the castle park. This example was followed by numerous sea captains and others, which contributed to the beauty of Veli Losinj. Today, the castle houses a sanatorium for the treatment of respiratory diseases. It is famous for its well-maintained and luxuriant vegetation, picturesque ambience of a well-preserved Mediterranean small town, clear seawater and beautiful beaches.
Veli Losinj offers high quality accommodation (hotels, apartments), sports and recreational facilities (tennis, miniature golf, yachting, diving, sports fishing), exquisite cuisine and opportunities for very pleasant walks to Mali Losinj, as well as cruises. Numerous cultural and sports events and entertainment programs take place in Mali Losinj (4 km).
Veli Losinj was first mentioned in 1398 under the name Velo Selo (Big Village). The entire town, especially its central part, has typical elements of the Baroque urban scheme, while residential architecture has late Baroque and classicst features (villas, horticulture). The oldest sacral building is the church of St. Nicholas (mentioned as early as 1384), which houses portraits of mariners dressed in national costumes, votive paintings from the 18th century. The church ofSt. Anthony the Abbot from 1774 features a number of paintings by Italian masters: B. Vivarini, L. Strozzi, L. Querena, F. Hayeza, L. del Cossa and F. Potenza. Close to the port is the church of Our Lady of Angel, reconstructed in 1732, when the structure got a sanctuary with a dome (paintings by F. Fontebass, G. A. Pellegrini and anonymous masters from the 16th-18th c.).
get the best deal
& the best yacht